Noise Vacancy


Koha at the venue, but please register.

Production Credits:

Curated by Nikki O’Connor, Lina Marsh and Sarah Cleave

Dates Venue Times
Wednesday 7th Oct 64 Lowe St, Gisborne From 7pm
Duration : NA

A conceptual sound art project by Tairāwhiti artists and musicians. 

As the number of vacant buildings in our city centre grows, we arrest a moment in time to activate a selection of these spaces through sound with Noise Vacancy.

This site-specific approach responds to the whakapapa, character and stories of the vacant spaces, guiding the creative process as well as the product. A sonic trail of 20 installations brings noise and vibrancy to an otherwise quiet and forgotten pocket of town.

Noise Vacancy features:

  • Beka Melville
  • Katy Wallace
  • Lina Marsh
  • Liz Cutts
  • Melanie Tangaere Baldwin
  • Nikki O’Connor
  • Nikora Te Kahu
  • Paulus McKinnon
  • Rangi Makowharemahihi    
  • Sjionel Timu & Stefan Neville
  • Sound Collective: Nikki O’Connor, Sarah Cleave, Katy Wallace & Lina Marsh
  • Subset squared: Paulus McKinnon, Ryan Raggett & Matt Tong
  • Sarah Cleave
  • Taonga Tangaere
  • The Band School: Ricky Boyd, Liam Walters, Louis Wylie, & Ricky Reedy
  • Wayne Crosby